Welcome toMoney Diaries , where we’re tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We’re asking millennials how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period — and we’re tracking every last dollar.

Today: an attorney who makes $100,000 per year ($409,000 when combined with her husband) and spends some of her money this week on a new pair of Chacos.

Occupation: Attorney
Industry: Legal
Age: 30
Location: Seattle, WA
Salary: $80,000 + bonus (~$20,000)
My Husband’s Salary: $309,000
Paycheck Amount (Biweekly): $1,931.83
My Husband’s Paycheck Amount (Monthly): about $19,000
Rental Income: $11,000-$14,000 annually

Monthly Expenses
Mortgage: $3,447 (The mortgage itself is $2,827.49, and the rest is taxes/insurance. This is more than we wanted to pay for a house, but we had a hard time finding a cheaper house that didn’t require a lot of work. We justify the higher mortgage by renting out the backyard cottage that came with the house on Airbnb.)
My Husband’s Car Payment: $622
My Husband’s Student Loans: $1,350 (I had a full scholarship to law school.)
Utilities: $282
Internet: $81
Health Insurance: $390 for my husband. My work pays for mine.
Umbrella/Life/Car Insurance: $282
HSA: $288
Retirement: $6,250 transferred automatically to our retirement accounts
Hulu: $11.99
Spotify: $9.99
Cell Phones: $110
Charitable Donations: $75/month in automatic payments.
Savings: Right now we have about $50,000 in our bank accounts. We’re still deciding how we want to allocate that money between paying off loans, investing more, and setting up our emergency fund.

Annual Expenses
My Husband’s Disability Insurance: $3,984

Day One

7:15 a.m. — Alarm goes off. I am reluctant to move, but my husband, A., is working a day shift today, so I need to drop off one of our dogs at daycare. Since his schedule varies so much (he’s an ER doctor), we use a drop-in daycare for our larger (and louder) dog when we’re both out of the house for more than seven hours. Luckily, with A.’s schedule, this only happens a few times a month. Our other dog is allowed to come to work with me because she’s very sweet and quiet (and a reasonable size). Big Dog is 75 pounds and too much for an office! I shower, feed the dogs, and eat breakfast — overnight oats with soy milk, oats, chia seeds, and protein powder. I make breakfast for the week every Sunday. I also make coffee to bring with me to the office.

8:20 a.m. — Out the door! I drop Big Dog off at daycare. We prepaid for …read more

Source:: Refinery29

      

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)
A Week In Seattle, WA, On A Joint $409,000 Income

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *