Hotel quarantine arrivals

Summary List Placement

As India’s daily COVID-19 cases surge to global records, the UK has added the country to its “red list” of places from which travel is banned to to prevent the spread of coronavirus and its variants.

The red list could be compared to “Level Four: Do Not Travel” advisory issued by the US State Department, which now covers most countries in the world because of the coronavirus.

But while that is a plea for US citizens not to go abroad, the red list works in the opposite direction – it forbids travel from 40 countries.

India was added at 4 a.m. on Friday, after 77 cases wre confirmed in the UK of the “double mutant” B.1.617 variant — which contains two mutations of the original virus — that was identified in India.

Before this, anyone who had been there within 10 days could travel to the UK if they self-isolated on arrival and tested negative twice.

Now, only UK and Irish citizens and those who permanently reside in the country can enter  — and only after a 10-day quarantine in an approved hotel where they are closely monitored.

A quarantine requirement for 33 countries was first introduced on February 15 to stop the spread of coronavirus variants that may be more transmissible or deadly.

The red list has been expanded in the last two months. Kenya and the Philippines were added on April 9, along with India’s neighbors Pakistan and Bangladesh.

Prime Minister Boris Johnson did not rule out adding France to the list earlier this month but stressed “it would have consequences” given the scale of trade between the two countries.

All the 40 countries are in Central America, South America, Africa, the Middle East or Asia.

The red list in full: Angola, Argentina, Bangladesh, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Burundi, Cape Verde, Chile, Colombia, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ecuador, Eswatini, Ethiopia, French Guiana, Guyana, India, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, South Africa, Suriname, Tanzania, United Arab Emirates (UAE), Uruguay, Venezuela, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Countries are added by ministers, who review scientific data and advice from experts in infectious disease at the UK’s Joint Biosecurity Centre, the Department for Transport told Insider.

Ministers consider a country’s capability to monitor and sequence COVID-19 variants, how fast coronavirus is spreading in the community there and the number of cases, and any evidence new variants are coming to the …read more

Source:: Business Insider


(Visited 9 times, 1 visits today)
The UK’s ‘red list’ now bars travel from India to contain the spread of COVID-19 variants. Here’s what it means, which countries are on the list and how it works.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *